Unearthing words from the heart

Moving and settling in to your new domicile can be like an archeological dig.  You break ground, dig around for a long, long time, coming up with nothing but rubbish, broken pottery and those little white tables that come on large pizzas for no real reason. 

Where else are pixies going to get their  tiny furniture?

Where else are pixies going to get their tiny, cheese covered furniture?

Then, after a long time of stumbling around (I’m the one doing most of the stumbling) you come across a rare treasure.  In light of our upcoming 5 year anniversary, I found the wedding vows that I wrote for that special day.

When I was writing the vows, I stayed late after work and worked on the school computer.  It seemed like I spent hours crafting such a relatively small collection of words.  I was so nervous that I rehearsed my vows in front of my colleagues, Ms. Narachi and Ms. Stifell.  When they both started crying, I knew that I either hit the jackpot or wrote the worse thing ever spoken to a bride.

As it turned out, even the Deacon, Sergio whom presided over the ceremony was nervous, this being his first wedding and all.  His daughter, Monica was a good friend of my wife and she had known him for a very long time….but heck, even Deacons get jitters, right?  Deacon Sergio forgot to ask us to share our vows, we were able to read ours at the reception.  Here’s what I wrote:

Mercy,

I have been waiting for this moment for a very long time.  Now that it’s here, I want this moment to last forever.  You bring out the best in me and I believe I bring out the best in you.  When we’re together we make a super team, like Superman and Wonder Woman.  Batman and Robin…well, only if Robin was a woman.  Standing here with you, surrounded by all of our loved ones, I feel like the wealthiest, luckiest man on the planet.  The way the Trix Rabbit might feel when he finally gets a bowl of Trix brand cereal.

       Instead of gaining a delicious fruit flavored breakfast cereal, I will have the ultimate treasure.  The woman that I cherish more than any other human being on the planet.  And I vow that I will hold this treasure, this marriage as close to my heart as I possibly can.  Whether its turning on the bathroom light for you in the middle of the night because you are scared, or making sure you have your socks laid out for you in the morning, I will always be here for you.  I Vow to always be honest and truthful with you, even if that means admitting that I’m wrong.  I promise to always be faithful and loyal.

     You stir up feelings in me that no words can express and no painting could ever illustrate.  You’re my wife now and no force in the universe, even Darth Vader could keep me from being the best husband I can possibly be.

Mercy, I love you and can’t wait for the wonderful, bright future that we have in store for us.

Now, five years later, the feelings I have for my beautiful wife are still the same, probably even more intensified after all we have been through.  I’d like to think that I have lived up to some small measure of what I promised those five years ago, it sure doesn’t seem like it sometimes.  I know that I’d never want to spend my life with anyone else….not even Princess Leia in the gold bikini.  Plus, isn’t Carrie Fisher like a thousand years old now.  Please, don’t put her in a gold bikini in Episode VII!  Wait, what was I talking about…oh yes, Trix!

Five years later and Trix are still for kids.  Damn segregationists!

Five years later and Trix are still for kids. Damn segregationists!

Leave a Reply

